top of page
Search
Writer's pictureClaire Pugel

Connected Through Camping

Hi everyone! My name is Claire Pugel, and I am heading into my final semester at the University of Akron this fall. For the past three years, I have been pursuing a degree in communications with a media studies specialization, a minor in consumer marketing, and my professional social media certificate. I have been fortunate enough to find a career path that I view as a hobby, rather than work. Learning more about the field of communications has allowed me to develop several skills and a passion for the tasks that it entails, such as videography, writing, graphic design, and photography. This blog will allow me to demonstrate and practice those skills on a topic that I have also developed a passion for: camping, or backpacking.

I have always loved nature, hiking, and could be content outdoors for hours on end. I grew up in a household that encouraged playing outside, whether it was sports, taking walks, or making tree forts, versus occupying my time with television or video games. With the nationwide lockdowns due to the coronavirus cancelling a lot of travel plans, it proved the perfect opportunity to get back into nature in a new way. The older I get, the more I desire to travel, and when I discovered what a cost-effective way to travel backpacking is, I was extremely intrigued. I have gone camping when I was younger, but until I started back up this summer, it has been years since my last trip. Backpacking is a different way of camping than what I used to do, so it has been a refreshing and new learning experience. It has allowed me to remember what is important in life, disconnect from digital control, and reconnect with myself and closest friends. Throughout this blog, I intend to share unique stories and experiences, tips and tricks that I have learned along the way, and several pictures and videos to help set the scene.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page