top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaire Pugel

My First REAL Backpacking Trip

Updated: Mar 24, 2021

Up until November 6th, 2020, all of my nature excursions were preparing me for my first real backpacking trip. The experiences I've written about previously were typically in a familiar place with camp being set up for the entire weekend, rather than hiking to a different spot each night. My first real backpacking trip in Daniel Boone National Forest in Kentucky will be one I'll never forget.


Day 1: The day began before the sunrise at 5 a.m. with about a four hour drive until we got to the forest. After purchasing a permit from a local, secluded marina that looked straight out of a scene from Ozark, we drove deeper into the National Forest to find a parking spot. With our 30-pound backpacks strapped on, we were off on the first half of our trip.


We hiked around 5 miles the first day, and were surrounded by incredible views the entire time. Daniel Boone National Forest has dozens of jaw-dropping overlooks and natural arches that surprise you often. Hiking mostly upward on day one, we scaled two massive hills before nearing our campsite. The upper part of Red River Gorge had a smooth rock terrain with a natural sand dusted on top. The reddish color accentuated the leaves that were still left on the trees in late fall. The peaks were full of skinny paths that were surrounded by dry trees, placing me in a biome I had never experienced before.


As dusk drew near, we found an area to camp in, set up the tents, hammocks, and cooked dinner. With my legs just beginning to ache, I sank into my hammock and watched millions of stars begin to show themselves in the night sky. The spot we picked had just enough trees for all three of us to hang our hammocks, perfectly framing the blanket of stars above like a massive window. After a nightcap of Kentucky bourbon, we retreated to our tents for bed to rest up for the bulk of our hike tomorrow.



Day 2: In the morning, we were able to watch the sunrise through the mesh in our tents. With about 7 miles on the schedule for the day, we drank our tea and coffee, then got straight to packing up in order to make the most of our limited daylight.



Our first stop was Hanson's Point, an absolute MUST see for any visitors of the National Forest. Hanson's Point allowed us to walk on top of the cliff, standing above the entire forest.



Fast forward a few miles and a couple river stops for lunch and water fill-up, we stumbled upon Daniel Boone's Hut. With no prior knowledge of what this path might lead to, we were extremely glad we made the detour. After climbing a smaller rock, the trail opened up into a massive cave, said to be where Daniel Boone possibly made camp. Fenced off below the siding of the cave, it looked like the forest went on forever.


After leaving the Hut, we knew it was time to look for a campsite. While I waited at one possible location, another member in our group came running back after a little deeper exploring and found the perfect spot for the night. Almost like a home with a loft, we had a lower portion in which we set up our tents, and another flat spot a little higher up with our hammocks and fire pit, sitting below a cliffside towering hundreds of feet above us.


Day 3: With just over a mile left until we were back at our car, we took our time in the morning packing up and then, exhausted, made the trek back to our parking spot.


Overview: In total, we hiked 14 miles and gained 2,000 feet in elevation. While overall I felt the trip was a major success, I definitely discovered things I need to work on. Those hills are no joke, and while I had been working out to prep for the trip, I clearly didn't do nearly enough. Before my next trip, I'll need to train a lot harder and longer to build strength and stamina. I obviously pushed through, but not without experiencing some major knee pain from using muscles in ways they're not used to, when going downhill and on uneven terrain.

A couple of my toes also suffered some major damage to the nail bed from smashing into my shoes on steep slopes. They don't hurt at all, but they definitely don't look pretty. (Good thing it's not sandal season!) Apparently, I also need to practice walking through rivers, as I fell two times, bringing laughter to me and the people I was with.


Backpackers learn new things on every journey, and while it may get really tough at times, the reward definitely outweighs the struggles. I know what to expect now on my next trip and can better train, research, and prepare for things that may happen while in the woods. Daniel Boone National Forest and Red River Gorge was absolutely incredible, and I look forward to going back for years to come.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page