top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureClaire Pugel

Jack's Journey

Jack Harper, my friend and cousin, has long had a passion for the outdoors. He has turned that passion into a part of his life through his degree and experiences, such as studying abroad in New Zealand. I decided to conduct an interview with Jack to give readers another perspective on backpacking, and a chance to learn about his intriguing journey.

1. When did your connection/interest in nature begin, and how has it developed?

  • Ever since I can remember I have always had a passion and connection with nature. I think this connection first stemmed from living next to the Cleveland Metroparks, which my brother and I would constantly explore while we were younger. Having this urge to always want to be in nature later introduced me to other activities such as hunting, fishing, and backpacking. All of which I am still very passionate about today.

2. What is your degree in, and what job do you hope to get?

  • I have a degree in Environmental Studies and Ecology. I hope to get a job as an environmental consultant and/or work with wildlife conservation.

3. When did you get into backpacking/hiking?

  • I have always been into hiking, but I first really got into backpacking when I studied abroad in New Zealand my Junior year of college. The University of Otago had a great program where students could rent backpacking gear, which was a major help.

4. Tell me about New Zealand and the hikes you went on there.

  • New Zealand is by far the most beautiful place on earth. It has such a wide variety of landscape ranging from sunny surf-side beaches, rolling hills, and massive snow-capped mountains. I traveled throughout both the North and South Island NZ, backpacking in places such as Fiordland National Park, Mount Aspiring National Park, Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park, Waiheke Island and many more.

5. Why do you like backpacking?

  • I like backpacking because it allows you to be fully immersed in the natural world. It gives you a couple days to break out of your modern-day routines and lets you explore in a somewhat primitive way.

6. What are some backpacking goals that you have?

  • I would say my next big backpacking goal is to get comfortable camping in grizzly bear country. Many of the future places I hope to explore soon (such as Grand Teton National Park) are grizzly bear country, so I need to try to find ways to get over the psychological admiration/fear of backpacking with them.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page